Bunny Baby Rattle Free Crochet Pattern

This is a free baby bunny rattle pattern that is beginner friendly and easy to work up!

The pattern features
(1) One sized yarn design so that you can use this pattern with any yarn size and its corresponding crochet hook.
(2) The finished stitch count to help you double check.
(3) Easy stitches for beginners and works up quickly.

Abbreviations

Single Crochetx
Single Crochet Increasev
sc2tog (Single crochet 2 stitches together)A
sc3inc (aka. 3 single crochet increase, 3 Single Crochets in one stitch)w
sc3tog (aka. single crochet 3 stitches together)m

Materials

Below are the products I used to make this.

Bunny Head

Make one bunny head. Feel free to customize your colors.

Row CountInstructionsFinished Stitch CountColor
1Start the magic ring. 6 single crochets on the magic ring. Tighten the magic ring.6Gray
26v12
36(x, v)18
46(x, v, x)24
56(3x, v)30
6-1130x30
127x, 2w, 6(x, v), 2w, 7x44White
1344x44
147x, 2m, 6(x, A), 2m, 7x30
156(3x, A)24
166(x, A, x)   Start stuffing the head. Add a rattle ball if desired.18
176(x, A)12
186A   Finish stuffing the head. Close up the head and weave in the ends.6

Bunny Ears

Make two bunny ears. Feel free to customize your colors.

Row CountInstructionsFinished Stitch CountColor
1Start the magic ring. 6 single crochets on the magic ring. Tighten the magic ring.6White
26v12
36(x, v)18
4-518x18
63(2x, A, 2x)15
7-1015x15
113(3x, A)12
123(x, A, x)   Cut the yarn but leave a long end to sew the ears onto the head later.9

Rattle Handle

Make 1 rattle handle. Feel free to customize your colors.

Row CountInstructionsFinished Stitch CountColor
1Start the magic ring. 6 single crochets on the magic ring. Tighten the magic ring.6White
26v12
36(x, v)18
43(5x, v)21
5-1021x21
113(5x, A)18
12-1818x18
193(2x, A, 2x)15
20-2415x   Finish stuffing the rattle handle. Cut the yarn but leave a long end to sew the handle onto the head later.15

Ways to Support

If you would like to support via donation, you can donate via PayPal here.

You can also share this pattern with others or leave a comment or tag me on your finish product on social media to support!

Thank you for your support!

6 thoughts on “Bunny Baby Rattle Free Crochet Pattern

  1. You crocheted a very cute pattern. The bunny reminds me a bit of Bug’s Bunny which makes it even cuter. If I ever decide to crochet this bunny rattle, I don’t know what the crochet terms mean: x, v, w, m or A. I wouldn’t know how to knit from these instructions. I don’t see a terminology key that defines these letters / terms. Thanks so much.

    Like

    • That’s a good point, thank you for letting me know. I should put in a key sometime πŸ˜€ But for now, “x – single crochet”, “v – single crochet increase”, “w – 3 single crochets in the same stitch”, “m – 3 single crochets to 1 single crochet”, “A – single crochet decrease”.

      Like

      • I created a Crochet Terminology Key for myself to make it easier to crochet so I thought I’d share it with you.

        Key for Crochet Terminology
        x – sc (single crochet)
        v – sc inc (2 single crochet increase (i.e. make 2 sc in the same stitch)
        w – sc3inc (3 single crochet increase (i.e. make 3 sc in the same stitch)
        m – sc3tog (single crochet 3 stitches together)
        A – sc2tog (single crochet 2 stitches together)

        Like

      • You’re welcome. I started crocheting this baby bunny rattle. I’ll send a photo when I’m finished. I’m making some changes to the pattern to make it look a bit more like Bug’s Bunny since it already slightly looks like him.

        I noticed one error in the pattern that I thought I’d let you know about. It’s easier for another person to find errors so it’s always helpful when someone else crochets your pattern. Everyone makes errors when they are writing up patterns, I’m surprised I only found one. Good job!!!

        Errata Data:
        Bunny Head Round 12:
        Original: 7x, 2w, 6(x, v), 2x, 7x
        Corrected: 7x, 2w, 6(x, v), 2w, 7x

        Like

Leave a comment